Windows 7 x64 on Non-unibody MacBook Pro with OS X Leopard

by Michael

Installing Windows 7 x64 on my MacBook Pro wasn’t an “it just works” experience. It is only as of Boot Camp 3 that Apple supports the installation of Windows 7 on a Mac computer, this means that you have to do some minor hacking to be able to use the Boot Camp installation found on the OS X Leopard install disk.

I created a partition by using Disk Utility in OS X and selected the Windows 7 DVD as the startup drive. I rebooted my computer and was greeted by a blank black screen with a blinking cursor.

Searching the internet only led to more frustration as it seems that no solution was available. But in the end, I found a post at a forum where the poster describes how they were able to get around this problem. The solution was the following:

  1. Turn off computer
  2. Remove battery
  3. Wait 20 seconds
  4. Insert battery
  5. Start computer
  6. et voila

Certainly a wtf moment. Never expected this to work, but it did and I was happy.

The installation procedure was completely painless. I was able to use Windows 7 straight after the installation procedure. But, always a but, I wasn’t able to install Boot Camp, instead I got an error: 2229 when I tried to launch the setup file.

The problem was solved by using the instructions found here. Basically, you open the BootCampe64.msi file with an msi editor such as InstEd It! and drop the LaunchCondition table. If it still doesn’t work, try changing all references from VersionNT = 600 to VersionNT >= 600 in all the tables. VersionNT = 600 refers to Windows Vista while VersionNT >= is Windows Vista and above – Windows 7 has 610, I think.

So almost everything works now, except for sound. To get sound working, I had to

  1. Extract the RealTekSetup.exe file found on the OS X install disk in the Boot Camp/Drivers directory (do this with 7-Zip)
  2. Open Control Panel -> System
  3. Expand the “Sound, video and game controllers” node and right click on the audio device item and chose update driver software
  4. Choose the folder that contains the files from the extracted RealTekSetup.exe file
  5. Windows found the files and installed the drivers without any problems

And now, as far as I can tell, everything really does work.

